How I Went From $0 to $80k Overnight

King Ashton James Snow Jefferson
1 min readDec 31, 2023

--

I made the unconventional move of dropping out of Union County College because I was captivated by the world of coding. Instead of following the traditional college path, I got hold of the syllabus from Rutger’s Coding Bootcamp, treating it like my secret roadmap to mastering coding skills.

I threw my hat into the ring with over 200 job applications. One offered a remote gig, and the other beckoned from the vibrant cityscape of New York City. The latter was with Jopwell, a company committed to diversity and inclusion, especially for Black, Latinx, and Native American communities.

On December 24, 2019, I made a significant choice. I took the offer from NYC, where they were willing to cut me a check for 80 grand! It wasn’t just about the paycheck, though. Jopwell’s mission resonated with me on a deeper level. It felt like I was becoming a part of something significant.

Since then, navigating the realms of a software engineer has been a thrilling journey. It is a privilege that offers you an unconventional path to a great life.

Check out the offer letter:

--

--

King Ashton James Snow Jefferson

King Powhatan XVI of Pocahontas' tribe. Oku-Mankon Prince of Cameroon. The last Powhatan Indian and grandson of Thomas Jefferson. 🇲🇽🇮🇳 विवल्.